In this article7 sections
Most SEO writing software is priced for one site, while an agency has ten, or thirty, each with its own brand, approver and CMS. That changes which line on the pricing page matters: the monthly price counts for less than the number of client sites a plan lists and the drafts it allows each month.
We read the pricing pages for seven tools on September 24 and 25, 2026, one of them our own, and set what each plan lists against a roster of ten client sites. The tools split three ways: some count client sites; some skip that count and cap monthly drafts instead; some run out of published plans before a roster that size.
What changes when the buyer is an agency
A single-brand buyer can ignore most of a pricing table, but an agency can't. Three things break first when a tool built for one site meets a client roster.
- Voice bleeds between clients. One shared workspace means one house style, unless the tool holds a separate voice for each client.
- Caps count clients, not just words. A plan may allow two projects or five, and the next tier up can cost several times as much.
- Someone outside your team approves the work. Sharing, export and login handoff matter more than they do for an in-house team.
The tool's research step matters as much as any of these. A draft written from a model's memory reads the same for every client, which is the failure we described in why most AI content gets ignored by Google.
Six checks before you pay
- Client isolation: look for a separate workspace, project or folder per client. NeuronWriter lists projects and folders; Frase lists sites and domains; Surfer lists brand workspaces. Jasper's FAQ says agencies can set up a separate project for each client. SEO Engine gives each client a workspace with its own brand kit, connected CMS and content calendar.
- A voice per client: ask how many brand voices a plan holds. Writesonic's Starter plan lists one. Surfer lists custom voices from Pro up. SEO Engine lists 3 brand kits on Growth and unlimited on Scale. If the number is lower than your roster, you re-teach the tool each time you switch clients.
- The cap that binds first: write down three numbers for your roster: client sites, drafts a month, seats. Hold each plan against them and the lowest ratio decides. At ten clients, NeuronWriter Diamond's 150 monthly analyses work out to 15 per client; Frase Scale's 100 articles to 10; Clearscope's 20 drafts to 2; SEO Engine Scale's 60 articles to 6. Those units are not identical, so treat the numbers as a guide to scale, not a match for scale.
- Where the research comes from: run one real client keyword through a trial and read the draft next to the current top three results. If it says nothing they don't, the tool is guessing. Our SERP-first outline workflow walks through the test. SEO Engine's pipeline starts from the live results for the keyword and asks you to approve an outline before it drafts.
- Publishing and export: Surfer lists WordPress and Google Docs among its integrations. Frase publishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity and Wix. NeuronWriter lists WordPress, Shopify and Search Console from Gold up; Writesonic lists WordPress. SEO Engine publishes to WordPress or Shopify, or stops at a draft you can export for client review. Clearscope's page says sharing and exporting are unlimited on every plan.
- Client-facing reports: Frase Scale includes client-ready reports you can export, and its page says white-label reports and a branded client portal are Enterprise only. Surfer lists white-label on its Enterprise plan. SEO Engine reports Search Console rankings and clicks per workspace, and its pricing page lists no white-label reports or client portal. Price the custom tier, not the plan you saw first, if a branded portal is part of your offer.
Seven tools, compared on what their plans list
The tools are in alphabetical order and are not ranked, and one of them is ours. This is a research-only comparison: we read public pricing pages and did not test draft quality. Prices are in US dollars and billed yearly unless noted.
| Tool | Price per month | Client cap | Monthly limits | White-label |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearscope | Essentials $129, Business $399 (monthly; no annual price listed) | Unlimited projects and users | 20 drafts, 20 topic explorations, 50 pages (Essentials) | Not listed |
| Frase | Scale $239 ($299 billed monthly) | 10 domains, 5 seats | 100 articles, 1,000 audit pages | Enterprise only |
| Jasper | Pro $59 ($69 billed monthly), Business custom | Not stated on the page; FAQ says a project per client | Not stated | Not stated |
| NeuronWriter | Gold $57, Diamond $97 ($69 and $117 billed monthly) | 10 projects (Gold), 50 (Diamond) | 75 analyses (Gold), 150 (Diamond) | Not listed |
| SEO Engine | Growth $89, Scale $149 (billed monthly; annual discount not shown) | 3 brand kits (Growth), unlimited (Scale); a workspace per client | 30 articles (Growth), 60 (Scale) | Not listed |
| Surfer | Pro $182, Peace of Mind $299 | 5 brand workspaces (Pro), unlimited with fair use (Peace of Mind) | 360 documents (Pro), unlimited with fair use (Peace of Mind) | Enterprise (custom) |
| Writesonic | Growth $399 | 2 projects, 3 users | 50 AI articles, 50 site audits | Not listed |
"Not listed" and "not stated" mean the pricing page does not mention it. They are not claims that the feature does not exist. Check the vendor page before you buy.
Clearscope
Clearscope is the only tool here with no client cap: Essentials lists unlimited projects and unlimited users. What it limits is work per month: Essentials lists 20 drafts and 20 topic explorations, and Business ($399) lists 20 drafts and 50 topic explorations. The page says every plan includes unlimited sharing and exporting. It lists no annual price and no WordPress or Google Docs integration. The catch is the draft ceiling: one article a week for ten clients is about 40 a month, double the allowance, with extra drafts sold as add-ons.
Frase
Frase's pricing page names agencies directly, labeling Scale best for agencies and multi-site brands: $239 a month billed yearly ($299 monthly), 5 seats, up to 10 domains, 100 articles and 1,000 audit pages a month, plus exportable client-ready reports. Extra seats cost $29 a month. Professional ($103 billed yearly) lists 5 sites and 3 seats. The limit to check is reporting: the page says white-label reports and a branded client portal are Enterprise only.
Jasper
Jasper publishes one price: Pro at $59 a month billed yearly ($69 monthly). Its FAQ describes Pro as built for content across several brands and says agencies can create a separate project for each client. Business is custom-priced and adds governance such as single sign-on and role-based permissions. Jasper markets an SEO and answer-engine solution alongside general marketing writing. The page text we could read did not list a client cap or a brand-voice count per plan, so ask sales for both. Ask about credits, which sit alongside seat pricing on Business for some features.
NeuronWriter
NeuronWriter lists the largest project counts for the lowest price. Gold is labeled for a small agency: 10 projects or folders and 75 content writer analyses a month for $57 billed yearly ($69 monthly). Diamond is labeled for an agency responsible for multiple projects: 50 projects and 150 analyses for $97 ($117 monthly). Both include unlimited team sharing and WordPress, Shopify and Search Console integrations. The unit to check: a project or folder is not necessarily a client site, so test how your clients map onto it during the 7-day trial.
SEO Engine
SEO Engine is ours, and it is a pipeline more than an optimizer: it researches the live results for a keyword, builds an outline you edit, drafts in a brand kit, then publishes to WordPress or Shopify or stops at a draft you can export. Each client gets a workspace with its own brand kit, connected CMS and content calendar, and the plans count articles generated. Growth is $89 a month for 30 articles and 3 brand kits. Scale is $149 for 60 articles and unlimited brand kits, and the page calls it the tier for agencies running many sites at once. Its pricing page shows monthly prices only and says annual billing is a discount. The gaps: 60 articles a month is six per client at ten clients, fewer than Frase Scale's ten; the pricing page lists no white-label reports or client portal; and publishing targets are WordPress and Shopify.
Surfer
Surfer's pricing page now leads with AI search, but the limits that matter to an agency are plain. Standard ($99 billed yearly) lists 360 documents. Pro ($182) lists 5 brand workspaces, 5 team seats, custom voices and integrations with WordPress, Google Docs, Contentful and Zapier. Peace of Mind ($299) lists unlimited brand spaces and documents under a fair-usage policy, plus API access. White-label appears on the custom Enterprise plan. The gap to watch: five workspaces at $182, unlimited at $299.
Writesonic
Writesonic's pricing page presents it as an AI-search visibility platform that includes an article writer. Starter is $79 a month billed annually for 1 user, 1 project and 15 AI articles. Basic is $199 for 2 users, 1 project and 25 articles. Growth is $399 for 3 users, 2 projects and 50 articles. Past that the page points to Enterprise, which is custom. The page has a For Agencies toggle, but the plan details we could read did not change when we selected it, so confirm agency terms with the vendor. The ceiling: at ten client sites, the published plans run out at Growth.
What ten client sites cost
To cover ten sites on paper, the monthly bill runs from $57 (NeuronWriter Gold) to $299 (Surfer Peace of Mind). SEO Engine Scale lists unlimited brand kits at $149 on monthly billing, and Frase Scale sits at $239. Writesonic needs a custom quote at that size, and Jasper needs a question to sales. Divide each plan's price by the sites it lists and the gap is wide: NeuronWriter Diamond works out to $1.94 per listed project, Frase Scale to $23.90, Surfer Pro to $36.40 and Writesonic Growth to $199.50.
A project, a domain and a brand workspace are not the same unit. The tools also cap different things each month: analyses, articles, documents and drafts. This compares listed limits, not what each tool produces, so run one real client through a trial before you commit.
How we compared these
This is a research-only comparison: we read each vendor's public pricing page on September 24 and 25, 2026 and compared what the plans list. SEO Engine's figures come from its own public pricing page, read the same way, and the table shows what that page does not list. We did not run hands-on tests, so we make no claims about draft quality, accuracy or rankings. Where a page did not state a limit, the table says so.
Jasper is the one place where we had to leave gaps. Its client-cap and brand-voice details did not appear in the page text we could read, and the table reflects only what its FAQ and plan summary state. Prices and limits change, and every page we used is in the source list at the end.
A note on AI-written client content
Google's guidance on generative AI says that using it to produce many pages without adding value for users may violate its spam policy on scaled content abuse. The spam policy applies to that kind of content "no matter how it's created" (Google Search Central). Google also suggests giving readers context on how automatically generated content was made (Google Search Central).
For an agency, that makes review part of the product you sell, not a cost to trim. Whatever tool you pick, a process that holds up looks like this:
- A named human reviewer for each client's content.
- A fact check on every number and claim before anything is published.
- The client's approval, recorded, before it goes live.
- A short note in the contract on how AI is used in production.
How to choose
- Five clients or fewer, lowest fixed cost: NeuronWriter Silver lists 5 projects at $37 billed yearly ($45 monthly).
- About ten clients, cost-sensitive: NeuronWriter Gold lists 10 projects at $57 billed yearly. Confirm during the trial that a project maps to a client.
- Ten clients and exportable client reports from one tool: Frase Scale, at $239 billed yearly.
- Research, outline and publishing in one pipeline, at an agency roster: SEO Engine Scale, at $149 billed monthly. At ten clients its 60 articles a month come to six each.
- No cap on client count: Clearscope Essentials, with the 20-draft ceiling in mind.
- A branded client portal or white-label reports: the custom Enterprise plans at Frase or Surfer.
- An API: Surfer Peace of Mind lists API access, and NeuronWriter Gold and above list a Neuron API.
Would you rather have a pipeline than an optimizer?
SEO Engine gives each client a separate workspace with its own brand kit, connected CMS and content calendar. Start free, then move to Scale when the roster grows.
Start freeQuestions people ask
Yes, on most plans and within limits. Frase Scale lists up to 10 domains, NeuronWriter Diamond 50 projects, Surfer Pro 5 brand workspaces and Clearscope unlimited projects. SEO Engine gives each client a workspace, with unlimited brand kits on Scale. Jasper's FAQ says agencies can create a separate project for each client. Check how each vendor counts a client before you buy.
Google says the rules are the same however content is made. Generating many pages without adding value for users can break its scaled content abuse policy. Add original detail, review each piece and keep a record of how it was produced.
Start with the client-site cap, then monthly drafts or articles. At ten clients a plan that lists two projects fails immediately, while a plan with a 20-draft ceiling leaves each client two drafts a month.
Sources
Pages this article’s facts come from. Prices and plan limits change; check the vendor page before you buy.
- Surfer pricing · read September 24, 2026
- SEO Engine pricing · read September 25, 2026
- SEO Engine for agencies · read September 25, 2026
- Frase pricing · read September 24, 2026
- NeuronWriter pricing · read September 24, 2026
- Clearscope pricing · read September 24, 2026
- Jasper pricing and FAQ · read September 24, 2026
- Writesonic pricing · read September 24, 2026
- Google Search Central: spam policies · read September 25, 2026
- Google Search Central: generative AI content · read September 25, 2026

